Is Winning Everything – Part 4

14 Jul

When I was last here, I was still on winter break.  So much has happened since then – a few vet tech classes, lots of time volunteering and learning at the clinic, my EPSA 15th Anniversary Concert, lots of work and of course some AGILITY!

When I last wrote, I had just gotten hooked on agility.  That was 8 years ago at the MAC (Minnesota Agility Club).   Today 8 years and hundreds maybe thousands of runs later I was back in the Novice ring at that same trial.   It’s hard for me to fathom that I’ve been playing this game that long.  It seems just like yesterday Noodle and I walked into that ring.  Today Miss Amati is 4.5 years old almost 3 years older than Noodle was when she and I first entered the ring.  Granted Amati and  I have had a few different opinions of teamwork and a couple injury set backs.   Today I really saw the wheels turning and her working hard on her end of the game.  I truly believe that each dog can do this sport, but each dog needs to be nurtured at their own pace so that they become a confident team member!  I was so proud of Amati today as she really showed some big dog skills!

8 years ago when I walked into the ring for the 1st time, the popcorn smell, the froggy chute, the not having a clue what to expect at a show, the competitive me thinking it was all about the blue ribbon…all that has changed.  Changed so for me that it’s hard for me to even begin to explain.

I used to think that every time I walked in the ring I needed to qualify.  One…these are dogs and that is just NOT going to happen.  Two…this is just a silly game we play with our dogs for fun.  They really could careless if we get a ribbon or even a Q.  What does that Q or NQ mean on Monday morning?  Nothing other than we had a great time playing with our 4 legged friends over the weekend.

I was always really serious when I walked in the ring with Noodle.  I had paid my money and I wanted something to show for it.  Well, a green ribbon…is that really worth the stress I put on myself and the dog?  NO, NO and NO.  But coming to that understanding with myself didn’t come easily.

Noodle was a Qing machine, but her nick name was Sniff and Waddle.  She was crazy consistent, but not that fast.  We were the queens of zero and one point jumpers Q’s.  I worked really hard to speed up Noodle…I did, but at the same time I think I put a lot more pressure on her.  Hindsight being 20/20 … I would have been a lot more relaxed with her in the ring. What did I know 8 years ago – NOTHING.  Noodle played the game because she loved me and wanted her chicken.  She didn’t love the game.  Knowing what I know now and if I started Noodle over…I think she would love the game – I view the game so differently than I did back then…

It’s only a game…remember it’s only a game!

One Response to “Is Winning Everything – Part 4”

  1. Jackie July 14, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Great post! I did this with Vega… pushed so hard, compared her to every other dog that age and completely felt like a failure when she didn’t Q because I needed to prove that I deserved to have a dog that fast and that fabulous. I’m lucky that she truly loves the game anyway. The 9 months off has taught me how lucky I am to have a dog that wants to play with me and that I get to play with her. I’d love to Q all the time because I’d love to show everyone how fabulous she and I are in our minds but you are so right, on Monday morning the only thing that mattered is that we had the privilege of getting to play together and had fun.

Leave a comment